Armand Frappier: pioneer of preventive medicine

His awards

The hard work that leads to the realization of a great dream is, in itself, its own reward. The Canadian and Quebec governments have shown their appreciation for the Institute’s services to the population, by awarding to Dr. Frappier their highest awards. Six universities (of Montreal, Laval, McGill, Quebec, Paris, and Krakow) have given him honorary doctorates. Several science academies and medical associations have given him medals and honorary diplomas; he is one of the rare foreigners to have received the Jean-Toy award from the Académie des Sciences de l’Institut de France.

Consult the table for more information on some of Dr. Frappier’s awards.

Awards Year
Officer of the Order of the British Empire 1946
Medal signed by H. Dubois commemorating the 50th anniversary of the death of Louis Pasteur 1946
Medal of the Officier d'Académie de France 1951
Medal of the Association canadienne-française pour l'avancement des sciences 1954
Medal of the Académie nationale de médecine de France 1957
Medal signed P. Turin commemorating the centennial of the birth of professor Albert Calmette 1963
Honoris causa doctoral degree from the Université de Paris 1964
Medal of the Centennial of the Canadian Confederation 1967
Companion of the Order of Canada 1969
Honoris causa doctoral degree from Université Laval 1971
Bene Merenti Pro Patria silver medal from the Société St-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal 1972
R.D. Defries medal from the Canadian Public Health Association 1973
Prairie des Vins d'Arbois medal 1973
Medal of a knight of the Military Order of Saint Lazarus of Jerusalem 1974
Medal of the Institut de microbiologie et d'hygiène de Montréal 1975
Honoris causa doctoral degree from the Université de Montréal 1976
Medal of the Académie nationale de médecine de Paris 1977
Honoris causa doctoral degree from the Université du Québec 1978
Honoris causa doctoral degree from Krakow University 1978
Frederic Newton Gisborne Starr medal from the Canadian Medical Association 1979
The Royal Society of Canada’s Thomas W. Eadie medal 1979
Prix Marie-Victorin 1979
The Meritas trophy of the Laval Chamber of Commerce 1981
Prix du Mérite de la Fondation Jean-Louis Lévesque 1983
Knight of Malta medal 1984
Grands Officiers of the Ordre national du Québec 1985
Award in honor of services rendered toward the progress of public health 1988
Honoris causa doctoral degree from McGill University 1989
Medal of the 125th anniversary of the Canadian confederation 1993