Research laboratory

Changes in materials

Changes in materials: an important factor in the evolution of laboratory instruments.

When the evolution of equipment and laboratory tools is studied, we readily notice changes in the materials used in their manufacture.

Laboratory instruments made of wood were widely used in laboratories from the 1920s until the 1970s. They are no longer used, because this material cannot be cleaned correctly or sterilized to prevent bacterial contamination, for example. Nowadays, the use of metal or plastic is favored.

GlasswareZoomZoom
© Armand-Frappier Museum

Glassware

The Petri dish is an invention of Richard Petri, the assistant to Robert Koch who discovered the pathogenic agent for tuberculosis, Mycobactérium tuberculosis, as well as the cholera bacillus. In 1905, Koch received the Nobel prize in medicine for the whole body of his work, which included numerous discoveries that contributed greatly to the evolution of microbiology study techniques.

These reusable glass Petri dishes were filled with agar, a nutritional medium favorable for the multiplication of microorganisms.

PlasticwareZoomZoom
© Armand-Frappier Museum

Plasticware

Petri dishes nowadays are made of plastic and are for single use, such as the model shown here. Their function, however, has remained the same: they contain a gelatinous nutritional medium for the culture of microorganisms.

Laboratoire de recherche

Transformation des matériaux

La transformation des matériaux : une composante importante pour l’évolution des instruments de laboratoire!

Lorsqu’on étudie l’évolution des appareils et outils de laboratoire de recherche, on peut facilement remarquer la transformation des matériaux utilisés pour les fabriquer.

Les instruments de laboratoire en bois étaient très utilisés dans les laboratoires des années 1920 aux années 1970. Ils ne le sont plus maintenant, car on ne peut nettoyer ce matériau correctement ni le stériliser pour prévenir la contamination bactérienne, par exemple. Aujourd’hui, l’utilisation du métal ou du plastique est privilégiée.

Vaisselle en verreAgrandissementAgrandissement
© Musée Armand-Frappier

Vaisselle en verre

La boîte ou plat de Pétri est une invention de Richard Pétri, assistant de Robert Koch, découvreur de l'agent pathogène de la tuberculose, Mycobactérium tuberculosis, ainsi que du bacille du choléra. Koch a reçu le prix Nobel de médecine en 1905 pour l'ensemble de ses nombreuses découvertes, qui ont beaucoup contribué à l'évolution des techniques d'études en microbiologie.

Ces plats de Pétri fabriqués en verre étaient remplis d'agar, un milieu nutritionnel propice à la multiplication des micro-organismes, et étaient réutilisables.

Vaisselle en plastiqueAgrandissementAgrandissement
© Musée Armand-Frappier

Vaisselle en plastique

Les plats de Pétri sont aujourd'hui en plastique et à usage unique, comme le modèle présenté ici. Leur fonction est cependant demeuré la même : contenir un milieu nutritif gélatineux pour la culture des micro-organismes.