Pesticides and cancer

Breast cancer is the most common cancer among women worldwide.ZoomZoom
© Joanna Prime

Article published in the Courrier Laval on June 27, 2007.

The number of cancers is increasing throughout the world. In Canada, nearly 150,000 new cases are discovered each year. Some products in our environment have now been identified as responsible for this increase. For others, pesticides, for example, the effects are more difficult to interpret. But what do we know about pesticides?

"By acting on plants and insects, pesticides can affect other organisms" says Michel Charbonneau, professor at the INRS-Institut Armand Frappier. With his team he is studying the effects of environmental contaminants, particularly pesticides, on human health. "Currently, toxicological studies on animals or human cell cultures show that these substances are capable of inducing cancers but their effect on humans is still a challenge" he continues. It took 30 years to demonstrate that smoking cigarettes induced lung cancer. And yet, this exposure is easy to quantify. It is more difficult to measure exposure to pesticides. Furthermore, one must wait 10 to 15 years before observing the appearance of a possible cancer.

"Cancers are currently classified according to the organs they target. We should also take into account their specific modes of action" explains Dr. Charbonneau. Each product uses a different route that should be treated in a different manner. One must look at the bigger picture to shed light on the question.

In the absence of certainty, some will choose caution: 0 exposure = 0 effect. But not using pesticides does not make them disappear from the environment. Furthermore, their use can be beneficial in the control of pollen-emitting flora or biting insects that transmit viral infections. In this case, eliminating pesticides could have negative effects on people at risk. "We should take the time to think things through before acting" advises Dr. Charbonneau.

Les pesticides et le cancer

Le cancer du sein est le cancer le plus répandu chez les femmes à travers le monde.AgrandissementAgrandissement
© Joanna Prime

Article publié dans le Courrier Laval le 27 juin 2007.

Le nombre de cancers ne cesse d’augmenter à travers le monde. Au Canada, près de 150 000 nouveaux cas sont découverts chaque année. Certains produits de notre environnement sont maintenant identifiés comme responsables. Pour d’autres, comme les pesticides, les effets sont plus difficiles à cerner. Mais qu’en est-il vraiment ?

« De par leur action sur les plantes ou les insectes, les pesticides peuvent toucher d’autres organismes » nous dit Michel Charbonneau, professeur à l’INRS-Institut Armand Frappier. Avec son équipe, il étudie les effets sur la santé humaine de contaminants présents dans l’environnement, plus particulièrement d’anciens pesticides. « À l’heure actuelle, les études toxicologiques sur des animaux ou sur des cellules humaines en culture nous montrent que ces substances ont la capacité d’induire des cancers, mais leur effet chez l’humain reste encore un défi » continue-t-il. Il aura fallu 30 ans pour montrer que la consommation de cigarettes induit le cancer des poumons. Pourtant cette exposition se quantifie facilement. Pour ce qui est des pesticides, l’exposition est plus difficile à mesurer. Et il faut attendre de 10 à 15 ans avant d’observer l’apparition d’un cancer éventuel.

« Actuellement, les cancers sont classés en fonction des organes qu’ils ciblent. On devrait aussi tenir compte de leurs modes d’action particuliers » explique Dr Charbonneau. Chaque produit est impliqué dans une voie différente qui se soigne de manière différente. Seule une vue d’ensemble permettra de faire la lumière sur cette question.

En absence de certitude, certains choisissent la prudence : 0 exposition = 0 effet. Mais ne pas utiliser de pesticides ne les fait pas disparaître de l’environnement. Par ailleurs, leur utilisation offre des bénéfices comme le contrôle d’herbes à pollen ou d’insectes piqueurs transmettant des infections virales. Dans ce cas, le retrait des pesticides pourrait avoir des effets néfastes sur la santé de certaines personnes à risque « Donnons-nous le temps de faire un jugement éclairé » conseille le Dr Charbonneau.