Bioinsecticides against insect pests

Trees have finally found an ally in the fight against insect pests.ZoomZoom
© Claude Guertin - INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier

Article published in theCourrier Laval on June 4, 2006.

How many of you believe that biopesticides are an invention of the 20th Century??

Ask your grandparents how they would protect their crops from aphids. Without hesitating, they will answer: "with ladybugs!"

Although it has existed as long as man has been growing plants, with the use of chemical products, knowledge about biological control was lost. Because these products are not without effects on human health, a return to more natural methods is under way. Birds, insects, soaps, all these biological products can be put to good use in this battle!

"The use of biological agents to fight against pests is older than we think" says Dr. Guertin, researcher at the INRS-Institut Armand Frappier. Since 1992, Dr. Guertin and his team have specialized in the development of bioinsecticides, i.e., biopesticides directed against insect pests. Useful in helping to avoid insect epidemics such as grasshoppers or mosquitoes and in reducing the risks associated with too many birds near airports, bioinsecticides allow us to treat natural forests, as well as agricultural and aquatic milieux. Spreading microorganisms such as viruses or bacteria, Bacillus thuringiensis (Bt) for example, causes illness in the insect that ingests the biological agents. But what can we do about insects that do not eat, bite directly into the leaves, or hide under the bark? The micro-fungi Beauveria bassiana can solve all these problems. It is deposited on the insect’s shell and infiltrates the organism bit by bit. This contact is fatal.

"Fall is a nice time of the year to collect field samples.", says Dr. Guertin. Researchers who collect sick insects identify the microorganisms responsible for these infections. These pathogens, identified in their natural milieu and brought back to the laboratory, constitute a bank of potential bioinsecticides. They are tested under controlled conditions to determine their specificity. Before going to war, we must know the enemy: when he appears, and his interaction with the plant. It is also important to evaluate the impact of external factors on the microorganism such as harmful UV radiation or the rain washing off the deposits. Once they are armed, the bioinsecticides are released in great number in the environment to enter into combat against the pests.

The development of such products takes a long time. Although biological control is gaining ground, North America remains fond of using chemical products. Old Europe and its agriculture are way ahead of us!

Les bioinsecticides contre les ravageurs

Les arbres ont enfin trouvé un allié pour lutter contre les insectes ravageurs.AgrandissementAgrandissement
© Claude Guertin - INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier

Article publié dans le Courrier Laval le 4 juin 2006.

Qui parmi vous pense que les biopesticides sont une invention de la fin du 20e siècle ?

Demandez donc à vos grands-parents comment protéger leurs cultures des pucerons. Ils vous répondront sans hésiter : « avec des coccinelles ! »

Existant depuis que l'homme cultive les plantes, les connaissances sur la lutte biologique se sont perdues avec l'utilisation de produits chimiques. Parce que ces produits ne sont pas sans incidence sur la santé humaine, on revient à des méthodes plus naturelles. Oiseaux, insectes, savons, tous ces produits biologiques s'avèrent profitables à ce combat !

« L'utilisation d'agents biologiques pour lutter contre des ravageurs est plus ancienne que ce que l'on pense » dit le Dr Guertin, chercheur à l'INRS-Institut Armand Frappier. Depuis 1992, lui et son équipe se sont spécialisés dans le développement de bioinsecticides, biopesticides dirigés contre les insectes ravageurs. Utiles pour éviter des épidémies d'insectes tels que les sauterelles ou les moustiques, réduire les risques liés au trop grand nombre d'oiseaux aux abords des aéroports, les bioinsecticides permettent de traiter les forêts naturelles ainsi que les milieux agricole et aquatique. L'épandage de micro-organismes, tels que les virus ou les bactéries comme Bacillus thuringiensis (Bt), rend l'insecte malade après ingestion des agents biologiques. Mais que faire pour atteindre des ravageurs qui ne se nourrissent plus, piquent directement dans les feuilles ou bien se cachent sous les écorces ? Le micro-champignon Beauveria bassiana permet de remédier à tous ces problèmes. Il se dépose sur la carapace de l'insecte et s'infiltre peu à peu dans l'organisme. Ce contact est mortel.

« L'automne pour nous est une belle période où l'on va faire des collectes sur le terrain », annonce le Dr Guertin. Les chercheurs, qui vont ramasser des insectes malades, identifient des micro-organismes responsables de ces infections. Ces pathogènes, présents en milieu naturel et ramenés au laboratoire, constituent ainsi une banque de bioinsecticides potentiels. Testés sous conditions contrôlées, on détermine leur spécificité. Avant d'entrer en guerre, il faut connaître son ennemi, le moment auquel il apparaît et son interaction avec la plante. Il convient aussi d'évaluer l'impact de facteurs externes sur le micro-organisme comme les nocifs UV ou les pluies lavant les dépôts. Les bioinsecticides sont versés dans l'environnement en plus grand nombre et entrent au combat contre les ravageurs.

Le développement de tels produits est long. Et même si la lutte biologique prend de l'importance, l'Amérique du Nord reste friande de l'utilisation de produits chimiques. La vieille Europe et son agriculture sont en avance sur nous !