Organ transplantation

Dr. Claude Daniel and his research teamZoomZoom
© Armand-Frappier Museum

Article published in the Courrier Laval April 23, 2006.

This year, National Organ Donation Week will be held from April 24 to April 30. Everywhere in the country, citizens will be sensitized to the importance of signing their health insurance cards to authorize harvesting of their organs and tissues when they die. At the same time, the work of researchers who are attempting to eliminate organ rejection and to improve the quality of life of organ recipients will be showcased.

This is the case of Dr. Claude Daniel, professor-researcher at the INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier. Dr. Daniel is responsible for three Quebec laboratories in charge of establishing compatibility between donors and patients waiting for an organ transplant. Dr. Daniel also studies the mechanisms of organ rejection.

Some of these mechanisms are already known and a few medications, known as immunosuppressors, are used to suppress the immune response in patients who have received an organ. The most well known of these medications is called Cyclosporin. In the short term, these medications are very effective and depending on which organ is transplanted, survival rates of 80 to 95% can be expected one year after the transplantation. However, these medications decrease the immune system’s ability to defend itself against the development of cancer and against microbial infections as benign as the common cold. Furthermore, these medications have little effect on the chronic rejection that occurs a few years after the surgery. We need to build long-term tolerance of the graft while maintaining a fully competent immune system.

To this end, Dr. Daniel is interested in the regulation of the response that leads to the rejection of the transplanted organ. When a patient has just received an organ, the cells of the recipient’s immune system recognize the donor cells; this reaction is called direct alloreactivity. This very vigorous response is attenuated by commercial immunosuppressors. In parallel, an indirect response occurs, whereby some foreign molecules present on the newly received organ are degraded and presented by the cells of the recipient’s immune system. This response is constant in time and is at the origin of organ rejection.

Dr. Daniel has developed a unique study model to identify physiologic mechanisms specific to direct and indirect alloreactivity. He is specifically interested in defining the interaction between the cells of the immune system involved in the rejection, as well as where these interactions occur. This information should make it possible to develop better targeted therapeutic strategies and to decrease the incidence of chronic organ transplant rejection.

This article was written with the collaboration of Dr. Claude Daniel, professor-researcher at the INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier, whose research is partially supported by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the Fondation Roche pour la recherche en transplantation d'organes.

Greffes d'organes

Dr Claude Daniel et son équipeAgrandissementAgrandissement
© Musée Armand-Frappier

Article publié dans le Courrier Laval le 23 avril 2006.

La Semaine nationale des dons d'organes se tiendra cette année, du 24 au 30 avril. Partout au pays, les citoyens seront sensibilisés à l'importance de signer leur carte d'assurance maladie pour autoriser le prélèvement d'organes et de tissus lors de leur décès. On mettra également en valeur le travail des chercheurs qui tentent d'enrayer le rejet de greffes et d'améliorer la qualité de vie des receveurs d'organes.

C'est le cas du Dr Claude Daniel, professeur-chercheur à l'INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier. Le Dr Daniel est responsable d'un des trois laboratoires québécois chargés d'établir la compatibilité entre donneurs et patients en attente d'une greffe d'organe. Le Dr Daniel se consacre aussi à l'étude des mécanismes du rejet de greffes.

Certains de ces mécanismes sont présentement connus et quelques médicaments appelés immunosuppresseurs, dont le plus connu est nommé Cyclosporine, sont utilisés pour supprimer la réponse immunitaire chez les patients qui ont reçu un organe. À court terme, ces médicaments sont très efficaces et permettent un taux de survie de 80 à 95%, selon l'organe greffé, un an après la transplantation. Cependant, ces médicaments diminuent la capacité du système immunitaire à se défendre contre le développement de cancer et contre des infections microbiennes aussi bénignes que celle qui cause le rhume. En outre, ces médicaments n'ont pas beaucoup d'effet sur le rejet chronique, qui survient quelques années après l'intervention chirurgicale. Il faudrait donc pouvoir susciter une tolérance à long terme au greffon tout en maintenant le système immunitaire pleinement compétent.

Pour ce faire, le Dr Daniel s'intéresse à la régulation de la réponse qui mène au rejet de greffe. Lorsqu'un patient vient de recevoir un organe, les cellules du système immunitaire du receveur reconnaissent les cellules du donneur, cette réaction s'appelle l'alloréactivité directe. Cette réponse très vigoureuse est atténuée par les immunosuppresseurs commerciaux. En parallèle, se développe une réponse indirecte où certaines molécules étrangères présentent sur l'organe nouvellement reçu sont dégradées et présentées par les cellules du système immunitaire du receveur. Cette réponse est constante dans le temps et est à l'origine du rejet chronique.

Le Dr Daniel a développé un modèle d'étude unique pour identifier les mécanismes physiologiques spécifiques à l'alloréactivité directe et indirecte. Il s'intéresse plus précisément à définir les interactions entre les cellules du système immunitaire impliquées dans le rejet ainsi qu'aux endroits où ont lieu ces interactions. Avec ces informations, il sera possible de développer des stratégies thérapeutiques mieux ciblées et de diminuer l'incidence du rejet de greffes chronique.

Cet article a été réalisé avec la collaboration du Dr Claude Daniel, professeur-chercheur à l'INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier, dont les recherches sont en partie soutenues par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et la Fondation Roche pour la recherche en transplantation d'organes.