Lunchboxes: bye bye bacteria!

Temperature and germs.ZoomZoom (104KB)
© Armand-Frappier Museum

Article written by Martine Isabelle and published in L'Écho de Laval, August 19, 2010.

The presence and proliferation of undesirable bacteria on food in lunchboxes can be reduced by implementing simple and effective measures. Did you know that 100 bacteria present in an unrefrigerated sandwich can produce 1,000,000 bacteria in one morning? Armed with this knowledge, let's examine more closely the measures that are available to you to prevent this scenario from happening in your child’s lunchbox.

1. Wash, wash

Hand washing before and after handling food is an effective measure to prevent food poisoning. Work surfaces and kitchen utensils must also be cleaned. The lunchbox should be washed out daily. Did you know that fresh fruits and vegetables are often contaminated with bacteria? Don’t forget to wash them under running water.

2. Brrrr…bacteria are sensitive to cold!

Perishable foods (meat, eggs, mayonnaise, milk products, leftovers) must be kept cold in the lunchbox. The use of ice packs or frozen juice boxes helps to maintain a temperature between 0°C and 4°C, temperatures at which bacteria will not succeed in multiplying. Insulated lunchboxes also contribute to maintaining a safe temperature.

3. Heat, to keep bacteria away from food

Hot meals can be maintained at a temperature above 60°C with proper use of a thermos container. However, if a microwave oven is available to your child, it is preferable to keep the meal cold and reheat it on site.

In the presence of these simple and effective measures (cleanliness, cold, heat), undesirable microorganisms will not have a chance!

Boîtes à lunch : bye bye les microbes!

Température et microbes.AgrandissementAgrandissement (104Ko)
© Musée Armand-Frappier

Article rédigé par Martine Isabelle et publié dans L'Écho de Laval, le 19 août 2010.

La présence et la prolifération des bactéries indésirables sur les aliments dans les boîtes à lunch peuvent être réduites par la mise en place de mesures simples et efficaces. Saviez-vous que 100 bactéries présentes sur un sandwich non réfrigéré engendrent 1 000 000 de leurs semblables en une matinée? Sachant cela, examinons de plus près les moyens à votre portée afin que ce scénario ne se produise pas dans la boîte à lunch de votre enfant.

1. Laver, laver

Le lavage des mains, avant et après la manipulation d’aliments, est une mesure efficace pour éviter les toxi-infections alimentaires. Il faut également nettoyer les surfaces de travail et ustensiles de cuisine. La boîte à lunch doit également être lavée quotidiennement. Saviez-vous que les fruits et légumes frais sont souvent contaminés par des bactéries? N’oubliez pas de les laver sous l’eau courante.

2. Brrrr… les bactéries sont frileuses!

Les aliments périssables (viande, œufs, mayonnaise, produits laitiers, les restes de table) doivent être gardés au froid dans la boîte à lunch. L’utilisation de blocs réfrigérants ou de contenants à jus congelés aide à maintenir la température entre 0°C et 4°C, températures auxquelles les bactéries ne réussissent pas à se multiplier. Les boîtes à lunch isolantes contribuent également au maintien de la température sécuritaire.

3. La chaleur, pour tenir les bactéries loin des aliments

Les repas chauds peuvent être maintenus à une température supérieure à 60°C par l’utilisation adéquate d’un contenant isotherme. Toutefois, si un four à micro-ondes est à la portée de votre enfant, il est préférable de conserver le repas au froid et de le réchauffer sur place.

En présence de ces mesures simples et efficaces (propreté, froid, chaleur), les micro-organismes indésirables n’auront qu’à bien se tenir!