How can we control germs in daycares?

Toys and germs.ZoomZoom
© Julien Guimond

Article written by Julie Potvin-Barakatt and published in Le Courrier Laval, October 10, 2009.

Sitting in the middle of the playroom, Leah, snot-nosed, is drooling profusely on a red ball, which she is clutching clumsily in her tiny hands. Seeing this, Thomas, jealous of her tasty snack, crawls five steps, snatches the ball away from Leah, and brings it greedily to his own mouth. In a very short time, infectious diseases can contaminate all the occupants of a daycare.

To prevent the propagation of infectious diseases throughout the entire daycare, should the sick child be temporarily removed from the environment? "Yes," without hesitation, has long been the answer to this question. Well, you may be surprised to learn that doctors’ recommendations on this subject have been changing in recent years.

Why? Our understanding of germs reveals that many diseases are contagious before the infected child presents any symptoms. Therefore, when the child is removed from the daycare, the damage has already been done. Furthermore, requiring children to be absent from daycare for benign infections can be costly for a family that must find other childcare arrangements. This approach, guilt-ridden as it is for the parents, does nothing to solve the problem.

Health professionals have chosen to rely on prevention through education. It is of paramount importance to educate and offer continuous training to daycare personnel on ways to control and eliminate transmission of germs. Several publications and tools have been produced by the Committee for the prevention of infections in the Centres de la petite enfance du Québec, notably, posters on hand washing, respiratory hygiene, and diaper changing, as well as the quarterly information bulletin Bye-bye les microbes. This hygiene program has had very positive repercussions in Quebec, where two thirds of diarrheal infections and half of respiratory infections have been eliminated. Good news!

It is, however, inevitable that children attending daycare full-time run a risk of contracting infections up to three times higher than that of children of the same age who remain at home. There is, however, some consolation in knowing that this difference seems to reverse when the child goes to school, since attending a daycare appears to have a “protective” effect whereby children acquire immunity against certain infections.

Comment contrôler les microbes dans les garderies ?

Les jouets et les microbes.AgrandissementAgrandissement
© Julien Guimond

Texte rédigé par Julie Potvin-Barakatt et publié dans Le Courrier Laval, le 10 octobre 2009.

Assise au cœur de la salle de jeux, Léa, la morve au nez, salive abondamment sur le ballon rouge qu’elle emprisonne maladroitement entre ses petites mains. Jaloux de ce goûter, Thomas parcoure cinq pas sur les genoux, arrache l’amuse-gueule de Léa pour s’en délecter à son tour. En peu de temps, les maladies infectieuses peuvent contaminer tous les occupants d’une garderie.

Pour prévenir la transmission des maladies infectieuses à la garderie entière, faut-il retirer temporairement l’enfant malade du milieu? « Oui » a longtemps été la réponse à cette question, sans hésitation. Eh bien, vous serez peut-être surpris d’apprendre que les recommandations des médecins sur ce sujet tendent à changer depuis quelques années.

Pourquoi? Notre meilleure compréhension des microbes nous a révélé que plusieurs maladies sont contagieuses avant que l’enfant infecté n’en démontre les symptômes. Donc, au moment où l’enfant est retiré de la garderie, le mal est déjà fait. De plus, l’absence forcée des enfants dans le cas d’infections bénignes peut être coûteuse pour la famille qui doit trouver d’autres dispositions de garde. Cette approche culpabilisatrice pour les parents n’apportait donc pas de réelle solution au problème.

Les professionnels de la santé ont choisi de miser sur la prévention par l’enseignement. Il est primordial d’éduquer et d’offrir de la formation continue au personnel des services de garde sur les moyens de contrôle pour enrayer la transmission des microbes. Plusieurs publications et outils ont été produits par le Comité de prévention des infections dans les centres de la petite enfance du Québec, notamment des affiches sur le lavage des mains, sur l’hygiène respiratoire et le changement de couches, ainsi que le bulletin d’information trimestriel Bye-bye les microbes www.mfa.gouv.qc.ca/fr/ministere/services-outils/bye-bye-microbes. Ce programme d’hygiène a eu des répercussions très positives puisqu’au Québec, les deux tiers de la fréquence des infections diarrhéiques et la moitié des infections respiratoires ont été éliminées. Bonne nouvelle!

Il demeure toutefois inévitable que les enfants fréquentant un service de garde à plein temps courent un risque jusqu'à trois fois plus élevé de contracter des infections que des enfants du même âge demeurant à la maison. Consolez-vous car cette différence semble s’inverser à l’école puisque la fréquentation d'un service de garde aurait un effet « protecteur » en permettant aux enfants d’acquérir une immunité contre certaines infections.