Clostridium difficile

C. difficile has made headlinesZoomZoom
© Robert Alain, SME, INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier

Article published in the Courrier Laval, April 16, 2006.

C. difficile has made headlines several times in the last few years. Fortunately, the incidence of the disease that it causes is declining. In Laval, for example, there were 25.7 cases for 10,000 days of presence spent in a hospital in September 2004; this number was down to 13.7 in February 2006!

C. difficile
This bacterium is part of the normal human flora. It can be found among the bacteria of the large intestine in 60% of all newborns and approximately 5% of adults.

C. difficile is shaped like a rodcalled a bacillus and contains a sphere-shaped spore. The spore can survive just about everything that is fatal to the bacterium, such as variations in temperature, oxygen and disinfecting agents routinely used for cleaning. When the spore returns to a favorable environment such as the large intestine, it “regenerates” the bacterium.

Transmission
The majority of diarrheas associated with C.difficile appear between 48 hours and 10 weeks after taking antibiotics prescribed in an ambulatory health service or a hospital. The bacterium was therefore contracted by fecal-oral transmission during the hospital stay or the patient was already a carrier and taking antibiotics destroyed the balance between the various bacteria in the intestine and C. difficile took over.

Symptoms
The diarrhea is usually abundant and smelly; a patient will have up to 20 bowel movements a day. Some patients will have such a severe infection that there will be no diarrhea but acute abdominal pain, a high fever, and a very high white blood cell count. Depending on the gravity of the case, various treatments can be used, such as taking the antibiotics Métronidazole or Vancomycin.

Prevention
At the Cité de la Santé in Laval, a series of measures aimed at reducing the incidence of the disease have been adopted. When a case is diagnosed, the patient’s room is disinfected with a bleach solution consisting of 1 part bleach in 20 parts water, to destroy the bacterium’s spores. The patient is moved into an isolation unit where all the material used is reserved for that patient, i.e., the instruments such as the stethoscope are assigned to each room and never leave it. Furthermore, the employees of the unit are specially trained and visitors must wear gloves and a lab coat and wash their hands.

Dr. Tuyen Nguyen, microbiologist and president of the Infections Committee at the Cité de la Santé in Laval, whom we wish to thank for his contribution to the writing of this article, insists on how important it is for visitors to wash their hands as soon as they arrive at the hospital as a means of protecting the patients. Distributors of alcohol-based gels are installed near all the elevators, in emergency, at outpatient clinics, and on the different flours. This gel effectively eliminates many bacteria and viruses, such as the influenza virus. Furthermore, to effectively eliminate the C. difficile spore, it is important, on leaving the hospital, to wash your hands with soap and water, especially after having visited patients suffering from diarrhea.

Clostridium difficile

C. difficile fait les manchettesAgrandissementAgrandissement
© Robert Alain, SME, INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier

Article publié dans le Courrier Laval, le 16 avril 2006.

C. difficile a fait les manchettes à plusieurs reprises ces dernières années. Heureusement, le taux d'incidence de la maladie qu'elle cause est à la baisse. À Laval par exemple, on comptait 25.7 cas sur 10 000 jours de présence en centre hospitalier en septembre 2004 et cette donnée n'était plus que de 13.7 en février 2006 !

C. difficile
Cette bactérie fait partie de la flore normale de l'humain. On la retrouve parmi les bactéries du gros intestin de 60% des nouveaux nés et d'environ 5% des adultes.

C. difficile a la forme d'un bâtonnet, appelé bacille, et contient une spore de forme sphérique. La spore peut résister à presque tout ce qui est fatal à la bactérie comme les variations de température, l'oxygène et les agents désinfectants utilisés pour le nettoyage routinier. Une fois la spore de retour dans un milieu favorable, comme le gros intestin, elle redonne « naissance » à la bactérie.

Transmission
La majorité des diarrhées associées à C.difficile apparaissent de 48 heures à 10 semaines après la prise d'antibiotiques prescrits en soins ambulatoires ou hospitaliers. La bactérie a alors été contractée lors du séjour à l'hôpital, par voie fécale-orale, ou encore le patient en était déjà porteur et la prise d'antibiotique a rompu l'équilibre entre les différentes bactéries de l'intestin et C. difficile a pris le dessus.

Symptômes
En général, la diarrhée est abondante, un patient ira à la selle jusqu'à 20 fois par jour, et malodorante. Certains patients auront une infection tellement sévère qu'il n'y aura pas de diarrhée, mais des douleurs abdominales aigües, une forte fièvre et un compte de globules blancs très élevé. Selon la gravité des cas, différents traitements seront à prévoir, dont la prise des antibiotiques Métronidazole ou Vancomycine.

Prévention
À la Cité de la Santé de Laval, on a mis en place une série de mesures visant à réduire l'incidence de la maladie. Lorsqu'un cas est diagnostiqué, on procède à la désinfection de la chambre du patient avec une concentration d'eau de javel - eau de 1 dans 20 pour s'assurer de détruire les spores de la bactérie. Le patient est relocalisé dans une unité d'isolement où le matériel est dédié, c'est-à-dire que des instruments comme le stéthoscope sont assignés à chaque chambre et n'en sortent pas. Les employés de l'unité sont aussi spécialement formés et les visiteurs doivent porter des gants et une blouse et se laver les mains.

La Dre Tuyen Nguyen, microbiologiste et présidente du Comité des infections à la Cité de la Santé de Laval, que nous remercions pour sa contribution à la rédaction de cet article, insiste sur l'importance pour les visiteurs de se laver les mains dès leur arrivée à l'hôpital afin de protéger les patients. Des distributeurs de gel à base d'alcool sont installés près de tous les ascenseurs, à l'urgence, aux cliniques externes et aux différents étages. Ce gel est efficace pour éliminer plusieurs bactéries et virus comme celui de la grippe. En outre, pour bien éliminer les spores de C. difficile, en quittant le centre hospitalier, il faut se laver les mains avec de l'eau et du savon, surtout après avoir visité des patients souffrant de diarrhée.