Influenza - Atchoum! But is it a cold or the flu?

Dr. Talbot and his teamZoomZoom
© Robert Alain, SME, INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier and Joanna Prime

Article published in the Courrier Laval, on October 29, 2006.

It’s that time of year again, when headaches and sniffles get the best of us. The contagious season of colds and the flu is back. Since SARS and the mention of an eventual pandemic of avian flu, these diseases have become worrisome. But what do we really know?

According to Canada’s Public Health Agency, the flu kills between 4,000 to 8,000 Canadians each year. The Influenza viruses are responsible for these deaths. There are three types. The B type Influenza viruses provoke localized epidemics. The type A viruses are responsible for pandemics, i.e., epidemics on a planetary scale. Type C defines benign viruses. If we look more closely, we notice that these Influenza viruses possess eight DNA sections, H and N, for example. All these segments can undergo mutations, mix together, and create a multitude of different viruses such as the avian flu virus (or H5N1). These changes fool our immune system, which allows the virus to attack us each year. This is why vaccination is renewed every year.

The flu was also responsible for many deaths in the last century. The Spanish influenza in 1918 killed nearly 30 million people; the Asian flu in 1957, 4 million; and the Hong Kong flu in 1968, 2 million. According to Health Canada, "Canadian families should take simple measures immediately to be able to react more appropriately in case of an influenza pandemic". This is because the chronicity of these influenza pandemics indicates that we should fear a new one without, however, being able to predict when. The last ones having all originated in south-east Asia, it is suspected that the new source of infection will come from this region; wild birds ensure its propagation during their migrations.

The last pandemic, SARS or Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome, allowed public opinion to be sensitized to the behavior that should be adopted under such circumstances. This disease is caused by the coronavirus, a family of viruses responsible for a third of all colds. "People are now aware of the mode of propagation of these viruses and how to protect against them" says Pierre Talbot, a researcher on the coronavirus at the INRS-Institut Armand Frappier. When they are sick, some people wear masks when using public transportation and when visiting hospitals. Although coronaviruses are much more stable than Influenza viruses, this does not mean that they are benign. "Patients afflicted with multiple sclerosis have T lymphocytes that recognize both the coronavirus and the myelin proteins." This phenomenon is due to the structural similarity of proteins between these two elements. The coronavirus, present in the human brain, could be the trigger element for neurological diseases in predisposed people.

There is no vaccine against the common cold but this year’s vaccine against influenza will be available starting on November 1, soon enough to protect against the flu peak that occurs in mid-December or later.

Atchoum! Mais, rhume ou grippe?

Le Dr Talbot et son équipeAgrandissementAgrandissement
© Robert Alain, SME, INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier et Joanna Prime

Article publié dans le Courrier Laval, le 29 octobre 2006.

Voici revenu la période des maux de tête et du nez qui coule. La saison contagieuse des rhumes et des grippes revient. Depuis le SRAS et l'évocation d'une éventuelle pandémie de grippe aviaire, ces maladies sont devenues préoccupantes. Mais, qu'en est-il vraiment ?

La grippe tue chaque année 4 000 à 8 000 canadiens selon l'Agence de santé publique du Canada. Les responsables : les virus Influenza. Il en existe trois types. Les virus Influenza de type B provoquent des épidémies localisées. Les virus de type A sont responsables des pandémies, épidémies à échelle planétaire. Le type C définit des virus bénins. Si l'on regarde de plus près, on s'aperçoit que ces virus Influenza possèdent huit sections d'ADN, dont H et N. Tous ces segments peuvent subir des mutations, se mélanger et créer une multitude de virus différents, tel le virus de la grippe aviaire (ou H5N1). De tels changements trompent la vigilance de notre système immunitaire, ce qui permet au virus de nous attaquer tous les ans. C'est pourquoi la vaccination se renouvelle annuellement.

La grippe est aussi responsable de nombreux décès au siècle dernier. La grippe espagnole de 1918 a anéanti environ 30 millions de personnes, la grippe asiatique de 1957, 4 millions et celle de Hong Kong en 1968, 2 millions. Selon Santé Canada, « il serait bon que les familles canadiennes prennent dès maintenant de simples mesures pour mieux réagir à une pandémie de grippe ». Car la chronicité de ces pandémies de grippes nous indique qu'une nouvelle est à craindre sans pouvoir prédire quand. Les précédentes étant toutes originaires de l'Asie du Sud-est, le nouveau foyer épidémique est suspecté provenir de cette région ; les oiseaux sauvages se chargeant de la propagation lors de leurs migrations.

La dernière pandémie, le SRAS ou syndrome respiratoire aigu sévère, a permis de sensibiliser l'opinion publique sur le comportement à avoir en de telles circonstances. Cette maladie est provoquée par le coronavirus, famille de virus responsable d'un tiers des rhumes. « Les gens sont maintenant conscients du mode de propagation de ces virus et de la protection » nous dit Pierre Talbot, chercheur sur le coronavirus à l'INRS-Institut Armand Frappier. Certaines personnes portent des masques en transport en commun lorsqu'elles sont malades et aussi quand ils vont dans les hôpitaux. Si les coronavirus sont beaucoup plus stables que les virus Influenza, ils ne sont pas bénins pour autant. « Les patients atteints de sclérose en plaques ont des lymphocytes T qui reconnaissent à la fois le coronavirus et les protéines de la myéline. » Ce phénomène serait dû à une similitude structurelle de protéines entre ces deux éléments. Le coronavirus, présent dans le cerveau humain, pourrait être l'élément déclencheur de maladies neurologiques chez des personnes prédisposées.

Il n'existe pas de vaccin contre le rhume, mais le vaccin annuel contre la grippe sera disponible à partir du 1er novembre, assez tôt pour se protéger du pic grippal ayant lieu à la mi-décembre ou plus tard.